Uncategorized

Do you buy books more from bookshops, or online?

While pondering whether to stick with my plan of querying agents for six months (a plan formed on the advice of a literary agent who I had the chance to have a short one-to-one with about the publishing industry; she suggested that I query twelve agents a month for half a year, and then consider my options after that time if I was unsuccessful) or to simply save up and self-publish/ try a small press, I  keep thinking about where I want my book to be sold.

I love the idea of walking into a bookshop and seeing my work, but the reality is that unless I do hook an agent, and then if the agent hooks one of the big six, that idea is nothing but a fantasy. Then I think to myself, if my book (however it’s eventually published) sells well online, does it really matter if it’s not in brick and mortar shops?

I certainly know that while I like to mooch around in a bookshop for several hours, I tend to only find the ‘popular’ books by authors I like (such as Diana Wynne Jones’ ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’- whenever I check my local Waterstones, that’s the only book of hers I find), and so I end up ordering the rest online.

So the question is, should I really be worried about only seeing my book for sale online? After all, it wouldn’t make me any less of an author…would it?

1 thought on “Do you buy books more from bookshops, or online?”

  1. In 2017 I really don’t see the big deal of getting into an actual shop – other than for the sheer novelty of it. Personally I’m more likely to spend a quid on an unknown author on Amazon with a rating system than I am £5.99 for a paperback in a book shop.

    Grow your online presence, release free work, when possible self-publish. Fingers crossed you become hugely successful and you have twelve agents fighting over you then.

    Like

Comments are closed.