Green things

I’ve always liked plants, not just pretty flowers but trees and shrubs too. I find them very peaceful to be around – probably because they never talk back or complain. They just take their little piece of earth and sun and combine them to grow into curious shapes and sizes, sipping here and there at the rain and shying away from frost and snow. They inspire me a lot in my work, but I never really realised how much until someone pointed out that I have a forest or wood in nearly all of my books. After thinking about it for a while, I then discovered that the woods, forest and even singular plants  featured in my books have a direct impact on the story – they’re used as a meeting place for characters, or they have special powers of healing and communication, they’re home to a whole race of people…I think you get the point.

Anyway, the point I think I’m trying to make is that our interests, however small, always seem to take root in our work, and that, in turn, can re-spark our interests when they dull over time. So, for me, it’s important to look over old works when I’m feeling uninspired, so that the things that inspired me then can inspire me again.

Leave a Reply

